02 June 2016

{Debut Author Bash + Giveaway} Getting To Know Melissa Gorzelanczyk, Author of Arrows

Debut Banner

Welcome to MMSAI’s first stop (of two!) on the 2016 Debut Authors Bash. I have been lucky enough to snag Melissa Gorzelanczyk, author of ARROWS for a super fun and unique interview as my first stop! Did I mention there’s also a giveaway!? THERE IS!

20734033AUTHOR-PHOTO-Melissa-Gorzelanczyk_High_Res2_Credit-Photo-by-Mark-Anderson

Meet Melissa:

Melissa, I am so happy that you are here today to chat with my readers about your amazing book ARROWS! I want to do a few fun things in this interview, shake things up and give the readers something a little different that the standard questions.

In this first section, we are going to get to know you!

1. Using only 5 words, describe yourself. Zen-loving author and hopeless romantic.

2. As a child, what was your favorite book (or author)? Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery. I was often lost in my own imagination like Anne, writing poetry in the forest and describing sunsets with “amethyst horizons.”

3. What is your favorite food? Donuts and coffee.

4. What items can you not leave the house without? Sunglasses, lipgloss and my water bottle.

5. Best writing advice you ever received. Join the SCBWI. https://www.scbwi.org/

Now I’d like to take a look at your book, I want to get to know the characters and thought that using a good old high school year book approach to it would be a good way.

Most Likely To Lose Their Keys More Than Once Per Day: Danny.

Most Likely To Run Into A Burning Building To Save A Strangers Puppy: Aaryn.

Best Hair: Karma

Best Eyes: Aaryn.

Best Fashion Sense: Leah.

Most Likely To Take The Blame For Something They Didn’t Do: Aaryn.

Most Likely To Hold A Grudge: Leah.

And lastly, let’s get a little bit of info from you about how ARROWS came to be.

1. Where did the idea originate from? A good friend of mine sparked the idea of cupids being among us, kind of like angels. I loved the possibilities there--exploring how much of a say we have in who we love, and how love can go so wrong (the arrows!).

2. Was ARROWS always the title, or did you have a working title you used for yourself? Always the title!

3. What was your biggest challenge when writing ARROWS? The alternating points-of-view between Aaryn and Karma were tough. I’d never written a dual POV, and learned a lot from my editor about how to make every chapter work on multiple levels while moving the story forward at the same time.

4. What came easiest for you? Karma’s character. She’s a small-town girl with a big dream, which I could definitely relate to. Like her, I grew up longing for bigger and better places than the Wisconsin fields that smelled of sweet hay beneath amethyst horizons. Now I’ve grown to appreciate my roots. The song Down in the Valley by The Head and the Heart describes how I feel about my tiny hometown perfectly.

Melissa, thank you so much for being here today. I can’t wait to see what you come up with next!!

Thank you so much! I’m a huge fan of your work, so it’s been an honor to be here. xo

Giveaway

One winner will get a signed hardcover and swag, US only

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About The Book

20734033

A modern cupid story set in present-day Wisconsin combining the fantastical elements of Greek mythology with the contemporary drama of MTV's Teen Mom.

People don’t understand love. If they did, they’d get why dance prodigy Karma Clark just can’t say goodbye to her boyfriend, Danny. No matter what he says or does or how he hurts her, she can’t stay angry with him . . . and can’t stop loving him. But there’s a reason why Karma is helpless to break things off: she’s been shot with a love arrow.
Aaryn, son of Cupid, was supposed to shoot both Karma andDanny but found out too late that the other arrow in his pack was useless. And with that, Karma’s life changed forever. One pregnancy confirmed. One ballet scholarship lost. And dream after dream tossed to the wind.

A clueless Karma doesn’t know that her toxic relationship is Aaryn’s fault . . . but he’s going to get a chance to make things right. He’s here to convince Danny to man up and be there for Karma. But what if this god from Mount Olympus finds himself falling in love with a beautiful dancer from Wisconsin who can never love him in return?

This fast-paced debut novel explores the internal & external conflicts of a girl who finds herself inexplicably drawn to a boy who seemingly doesn't reciprocate her  feelings, touching on the issues of love, sex and responsibility, with a heroine struggling to control her destiny--perfect for fans of Katie McGarry's novels and MTV’s 16 and Pregnant.

Add To Goodreads
unnamed (7)unnamed (8)

11 comments:

  1. Thanks so much for joining the 2016 Debut Authors Bash!

    -N

    ReplyDelete
  2. this one is new to me. Thanks for sharing.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I'd like to read it because it sounds good. Plus, I've been a teenage mom in a bad relationship so it hits home.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I love books with Greek mythology. Whether it is a retelling of the stories themselves or a new story created with the famous characters from mythology, I want to read it!

    ReplyDelete
  5. This has been on my wishlist since I found out that the author is a fellow Wisconsinite! It seems like an interesting story that would suck me in as soon as I open the book.

    ReplyDelete
  6. This book sounds cute :)I've always loved Greek mythology so I know i'll like it. I've seen this book around a lot and I've been wanting to read it that's why I'm very excited and thankful for this giveaway :):)

    ReplyDelete
  7. My daughter would love this book.

    ReplyDelete
  8. This book looks super adorable and I've seen pretty amazing reviews for ARROWS!

    ReplyDelete
  9. I really love the idea of the cupids.

    ReplyDelete

Me, My Shelf and I is an Award Free Blog. Your continued support is all the award we need! Thank you so much!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...