17 May 2016

{Book Review} A Totally Awkward Love Story by Tom Ellen and Lucy Ivison

By: Me My Shelf And I | 17 May 2016 at 9:57 AM | | | | | |

A Totally Awkward Love Story

A TOTALLY AWKWARD LOVE STORY
BY TOM ELLEN AND LUCY IVISON

“An engaging and endearing story of what it is to find your place in the world and a person to share it with.” - Kirkus Reviews

“Raunchy, irreverent slapstick in the vein of Louise Rennison’s Angus, Thongs, and Full-Frontal Snogging (2000).” Booklist

A fun romantic comedy.”School Library Journal

About The Book

Kate Sullivan at Delacorte has won North American rights at auction to Tom Ellen and Lucy Ivison's A Totally Awkward Love Story (previously titled Lobsters in the U.K.). The book, which Sullivan calls The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight meets Bridesmaids, is a dual narrative novel by authors who dated when they were in high school, about a boy and girl who must navigate social misunderstandings, the plotting of well-meaning friends, and their own fears about being virgins forever. It's slated for summer 2016; Allison Hellegers of Rights People brokered the deal on behalf of Barry Cunningham and Elinor Bagenal at Chicken House in the U.K

A Delacorte Press hardcover / On sale May 3, 2016
978-0-553-53732-1 / 320 pages / $17.99 / $23.99 Can. / Ages 14 up /
eBook: 978-0-553-53733-8 / $10.99

Review

First things first – the cover. How adorable is it? It’s exactly the kind of thing I would gravitate toward in the bookstore. Seriously, how can you not love it.

Alright, moving on. I’ve been on a contemporary kick lately, I sort of sway back and forth reading dozens of books from one genre until I burn out and then switch. I thought maybe I was getting to the point where it was time to fade out of the contemporary line, until A TOTALLY AWKWARD LOVE STORY.

The main component to this has got to be the fact that it’s just not like all the other contemps I’ve read lately. We have a lot of typical love stories, very middle class, “good kids” these days and this book is filled with everything from grades to sex. I think it’s really important to make sure that we have books that relate to every kid, on every level and this one fit the bill.

I found myself scaring the cat, and the children while reading because I would laugh out loud so hard and so frequently that I’m sure they were starting to worry. Who am I kidding, they’ve been worried about me for years….

Ellen and Ivison perfectly capture the age, the struggle, the humor, the awkward and the reality of life. The characters are perfect, the story engaging and entertaining and I can’t recommend the book enough!

About The Authors

Joint Author Photo

TOM ELLEN AND LUCY IVISION met at the end of high school and quickly became sweethearts. Though they broke up in college, they remain best friends. Lucy runs the online teen magazine Whatever After and teaches in girls’ schools across London, specializing in building confidence and creativity. Tom is a journalist and has written for Time Out, Vice, ESPN, Glamour, and many other publications. They cowrote A Totally Awkward Love Story, which was partially inspired by their own high school relationship. This is their first novel. Follow Lucy on Twitter at @lucyivison

1 comment:

  1. Okay, I have to admit... I saw this book a while ago and it didn't really interest me. The cover and blurb just don't do it for me. However, your review just changed my mind. It sounds like it's a fun read and I love books that are awkward and make me laugh out loud. I will have to see if my library has a copy I can borrow.

    ReplyDelete

Me, My Shelf and I is an Award Free Blog. Your continued support is all the award we need! Thank you so much!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...