26 February 2016

{Book Review} A Drop Of Night by Stefan Bachmann

By: Me My Shelf And I | 26 February 2016 at 6:25 AM | | | | | | |

17735579

A Drop Of Night
Author: Stefan Bachmann
Release Date: March 15, 2016
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Pages: 464
Rating: 4 Birds

Seventeen-year-old Anouk has finally caught the break she’s been looking for—she's been selected out of hundreds of other candidates to fly to France and help with the excavation of a vast, underground palace buried a hundred feet below the suburbs of Paris. Built in the 1780's to hide an aristocratic family and a mad duke during the French Revolution, the palace has lain hidden and forgotten ever since. Anouk, along with several other gifted teenagers, will be the first to set foot in it in over two centuries.

Or so she thought.

But nothing is as it seems, and the teens soon find themselves embroiled in a game far more sinister, and dangerous, than they could possibly have imagined. An evil spanning centuries is waiting for them in the depths. . .

A genre-bending thriller from Stefan Bachmann for fans of The Maze Runner and Joss Whedon’s The Cabin in the Woods.

You cannot escape the palace.

You cannot guess its secrets.

Definitely not what I was expecting, buy enjoyable all the same. This contemporary thriller has a paranormal twist to it that isn’t easily discernible by the synopsis. For readers who don’t generally enjoy paranormal, I still suggest you read this because it’s a light kind of twist. I myself find I steer away from paranormal titles lately and absolutely none of the normal reasons why I don’t like to read it were in these pages.

The comparison of this novel to THE MAZE RUNNER and CABIN IN THE WOODS is really spot on. It’s a race to survive through a labyrinth of rooms, some boobie-trapped, of a lost, underground palace that I want to see – as in on a screen and not just in my mind. At the very least, a graphic novel of this title would explode off the pages. I don’t necessarily want to visit anything like this.

We live the story in two time periods, now and the time when the underground palace was lost forever, in the 1800’s. This ins’t jarring or distracting at all, I know that some people don’t like alternating POV’s for this reason, but I assure you Bachmann’s writing was enjoyable, smooth and even quite funny particularly when he was writing the MC in the “now” POV, Anouk.

Thrilling and mysterious, A DROP OF NIGHT will perch you on the edge of your seat and remind you that when something appears to be too good to be true…it is and you should run the other way!

Add To Goodreads
unnamed (7)unnamed (8)

1 comment:

  1. One of the main reasons I wanted to read this one was the comparison between Maze Runner and Cabin In The Woods. Good to know it is truly similar. Moving it up in the TBR.

    ReplyDelete

Me, My Shelf and I is an Award Free Blog. Your continued support is all the award we need! Thank you so much!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...