09 October 2015

{Review + Giveaway} A Step Toward Falling by Cammie McGovern

By: Me My Shelf And I | 09 October 2015 at 12:49 AM | | | | |

ASTF_Banner_thumb1

I am so excited to not only be hosting this tour, but to be on it. This book was more than I ever thought it would be and will live in my heart forever.  I hope you'll take time to enter the giveaway for 2 copies, below. One for you and one for the friend of your choosing!

About The Book

FallingBook_thumb8

A STEP TOWARD FALLING
Author: Cammie McGovern
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: October 6th, 2015

Cammie McGovern follows up her breakout young adult debut, Say What You Will, with this powerful and unforgettable novel about learning from your mistakes, and learning to forgive. Told in alternating points of view, A Step Toward Falling is a poignant, hopeful, and altogether stunning work that will appeal to fans of Jennifer Nevin, Robyn Schneider, and Jandy Nelson.

Emily has always been the kind of girl who tries to do the right thing—until one night when she does the worst thing possible. She sees Belinda, a classmate with developmental disabilities, being attacked. Inexplicably, she does nothing at all.

Belinda, however, manages to save herself. When their high school finds out what happened, Emily and Lucas, a football player who was also there that night, are required to perform community service at a center for disabled people. Soon, Lucas and Emily begin to feel like maybe they're starting to make a real difference. Like they would be able to do the right thing if they could do that night all over again. But can they do anything that will actually help the one person they hurt the most?

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

My Thoughts

This is an extraordinarily important novel.

This needs to be in all schools and  libraries, I firmly believe this. Acceptance, understanding, friendship and the life of those who are different than us is a common topic in YA and MG these days, but I've never read one that focuses on people with special needs quite like this one. You see, we get multiple POVS, and one of the is Belinda's, a high school student with special needs. We don't just see Belinda through other peoples eyes, we see her through her own and this is what makes this one extraordinary. It takes a few chapters as Belinda to get her rhythm down, but once you do it's amazing to see how she see's.

On the flip side we see things through Emily's eyes, how she see's Belinda and the situation that will bring her, Lucas and Belinda together.

I can't begin to express the sadness, goodness, and all over necessity of this novel to you.  It took me a few chapters to really find my reading groove with it, because the mom in me was so angry over what happened and how I felt it was being handled, but as all great novels do – it explains itself and makes it known why what happened did so in that way.

About The  Author

36320_thumb1


Cammie McGovern was born in Evanston, Illinois, but moved to Los Angeles when she was seven years old. She is the author of three adult novels, The Art of Seeing, Eye Contact, and Neighborhood Watch. Say What You Will will be published by HarperTeen in June, 2014. She currently lives in Amherst, MA, with her husband and three sons, the oldest of whom is autistic.

http://cammiemcgovern.com/

 

 

Giveaway

One Winner will get 2 copies of A STEP TOWARD FALLING, one for themselves and one for a friend.
Must be 13+ To Enter | Ships in US Only | Contact info for your friend will be required( e-mail and Twitter) , as item will be mailed directly to them.
 
a Rafflecopter giveaway

No comments:

Post a Comment

Me, My Shelf and I is an Award Free Blog. Your continued support is all the award we need! Thank you so much!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...