27 August 2014

{Book Review} Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang

By: Me My Shelf And I | 27 August 2014 at 7:45 AM | | | | | | | |

FallingIntoPlace hc c

Falling Into Place
Author: Amy Zhang
Release Date: September 9th, 2014
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Rating: 4.5 Birds

On the day Liz Emerson tries to die, they had reviewed Newton’s laws of motion in physics class. Then, after school, she put them into practice by running her Mercedes off the road.
Why? Why did Liz Emerson decide that the world would be better off without her? Why did she give up? Vividly told by an unexpected and surprising narrator, this heartbreaking and nonlinear novel pieces together the short and devastating life of Meridian High’s most popular junior girl. Mass, acceleration, momentum, force—Liz didn’t understand it in physics, and even as her Mercedes hurtles toward the tree, she doesn’t understand it now. How do we impact one another? How do our actions reverberate? What does it mean to be a friend? To love someone? To be a daughter? Or a mother? Is life truly more than cause and effect? Amy Zhang’s haunting and universal story will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver, Gayle Forman, and Jay Asher.

From the first line of this book, which by the way is the first line of the synopsis, I was hooked. I mean, come on – how could you not be intrigued or even just filled with the slightest bit of morbid curiosity?

When I started FALLING INTO PLACE, I had just finished IF I STAY by Gayle Forman and at first I was a little bummed because the two books had a similar feeling. Girl in an accident, in the hospital fighting for her life. It only took a few pages for me to realize that while you can call these books slightly similar and it's true that fans of IF I STAY will love FALLING INTO PLACE, they are still totally unique of one another.

In FALLING INTO PLACE we follow Liz Emerson's life as told in bits of time leading up to her decision to drive her car off the cliff, in her own voice. We don't visit the inside of her mind while she is in the hospital, even though she spends the whole of the book there -  but instead see her through the eyes of all the people who she knew. The people whose lives she touched in both the good and the bad – and there is a hearty dose of both.

What surprised me the most was no matter how much the time table jumps around, sometimes you see the present, sometimes the past, sometimes thorough a friend or an acquaintance – it isn't confusing or too much. It's not overwhelming in the slightest. What FALLING INTO PLACE is, is beautifully written, poignant and tough. It doesn't back down or sugar coat. It just, is.

A lovely read, I highly recommend to all!!

Find Amy Zhang on her website.

Add To Goodreads
unnamed (7) unnamed (8)

4half

Amber

1 comment:

  1. I've very interested in this one. I've seen some great reviews on it.

    ReplyDelete

Me, My Shelf and I is an Award Free Blog. Your continued support is all the award we need! Thank you so much!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...